Global: Crypto Boot Camp 2022

Upcoming Webinar | Sep – Dec 2022

Virtual Seminar Series

The speed and volume of change in the crypto asset markets has accelerated across the globe, with established financial institutions increasingly entering the sector whilst regulators look to keep pace. Recent high-profile developments and market volatility have led to growing calls for scrutiny and regulatory controls. Navigating this fast paced environment, within a sometimes disjointed regulatory framework, can be challenging.

This virtual seminar series will provide insights on how the regulatory landscape is changing and discuss the future of crypto within the financial services sector. Set out below are details of our 2022 series.

Please click here to view recordings of the 2021 series.

The crypto ecosystem

Tuesday, 20 September 2.30 pm BST / 3.30 pm CEST

This training session will explain the main crypto legal structures and the participants in the crypto ecosystem, including exchanges, wallets and custodians.
Speakers: Mark Simpson; Julian Hui; Steffi Illegems; Ben Thatcher; Subatra Thiruchittampalam


Integrating crypto into established financial services
Part 1: funds and listings

Thursday 29 September, 10.00 am BST / 5.00 pm HKT

This panel will discuss fund structuring and the challenges for conventional funds investing in crypto assets, including a discussion on crypto as part of wealth management and the rise of tokenised bonds.
Speakers: Bill Fuggle; Joy Lam; Stephanie Magnus; Catherine Martougin; Ansgar Schott


Integrating crypto into established financial services
Part 2: practical considerations

Tuesday 11 October, 9.00 am BST / 4.00 pm HKT

This panel will cover practical issues such as settlement in crypto, compliance with safeguarding/custody and outsourcing requirements, the territoriality of offerings, and regulatory warnings to consumers.
Speakers: Karen Man; Melody Hoay; Julian Hui; Shemira Jeevaratnam; Subatra Thiruchittampalam


Crypto risk: significant legal and regulatory risks

Thursday 3 November, 4.00 pm GMT / 12.00 pm EDT

This panel will review different key areas of risk in the sector, including financial crime, litigation and regulatory enforcement, sanctions issues, tax compliance and cyber security.
Speakers: Philip Annett; Jennifer Connors; Alex Lamy; Taylor Reid; Aiden O’Leary; Sarah Williams


A deep dive into NFTs

Tuesday 15 November, 9.00 am GMT / 5.00 pm HKT

This panel will look at the rise of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) in gaming, digital arts and more and the interrelationship with financial services regulation.
Speakers: Manuel Lorenz; Sue McLean; Ashlin Perumall; Kullarat Phongsathaporn; Olivier Van den broeke


DeFi

Thursday 1 December, 4.00 pm GMT / 11.00 am EST

What is ‘DeFi’ (decentralised finance)? This panel will review the interrelationship with financial services regulation and understanding DeFi staking.
Speakers: Iris Barsan; Paula De Biase; Gabriel Gomez-Giglio; Alfonso Martinez-Bejarano; Taylor Reid; Aiden O’Leary


Growth in crypto: capital raising, M&A and scale up

Tuesday 6 December, 4.00 pm GMT / 11.00 am EST

Our last panel will look at issues in crypto business growth, including scale ups, crypto-driven M&A, financing, risk and restructuring.
Speakers: Debra Dandeneau; Haden Henderson; Lawrence Lee; Mark Simpson

Please note: the high-level guidance provided in these sessions is not intended to be comprehensive legal advice.

About this virtual seminar series
The virtual seminars will be taking place at various times across the series. If you reside in a different time zone and wish to verify your time, go to Timeanddate to see the time in your location.

We will be using Zoom to deliver this series. Joining details will be circulated to you upon registration.

To register for one or more of these virtual seminars, please click below:

REGISTER

If you are unable to attend and would like to receive video recordings of this virtual seminar series please register your interest here.

We welcome your questions ahead of time for our experts. Please submit your questions during registration and we will endeavour to respond during or shortly after the virtual seminar(s).

If you have any questions regarding this series, please contact:


Shelsie Gutierrez
Assistant Events Manager

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.